Music Banter

Music Banter (https://www.musicbanter.com/)
-   Album Reviews (https://www.musicbanter.com/album-reviews/)
-   -   Colour Coded Album Reviews (https://www.musicbanter.com/album-reviews/39702-colour-coded-album-reviews.html)

sidewinder 05-29-2009 01:33 PM

I liked that DFA 1979 album when it came out, but I think I quickly got bored with it. About time for another listen, I suppose.

jacklovezhimself 05-29-2009 02:27 PM

damn this is an amazing review.
thanks for doing the Go! Team album (one of my favorites)
and the DFA 1979 album.
I'm excited to see what the verdict is for Rather Ripped.

music_phantom13 05-29-2009 04:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Roygbiv (Post 666652)
john coltrane is now cued.
what's that album by roxy music?

Um yeah... I feel like a dumbass now. Here's the Blue Train album art:

http://www.lipsticktracez.com/reggie...in%20cover.jpg

The Roxy Music album appears to be Siren. Ironically, I don't really know how I ended up with that art for John Coltrane, seeing as how I don't own or in fact even like Roxy Music. I suspect Siren is a bad album and wouldn't be bothered if you skipped it for something better :p

Oh. And are you really going to do a rainbow review and not include Nevermind? I feel that's somewhat necessary as a blue...

Roygbiv 05-30-2009 12:03 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by music_phantom13 (Post 668515)
Um yeah... I feel like a dumbass now. Here's the Blue Train album art:

http://www.lipsticktracez.com/reggie...in%20cover.jpg

The Roxy Music album appears to be Siren. Ironically, I don't really know how I ended up with that art for John Coltrane, seeing as how I don't own or in fact even like Roxy Music. I suspect Siren is a bad album and wouldn't be bothered if you skipped it for something better :p

Oh. And are you really going to do a rainbow review and not include Nevermind? I feel that's somewhat necessary as a blue...

Holy ****, I'm on it!

Also thanks for the readership, guys! Rather Ripped coming ASAP.

Roygbiv 05-30-2009 12:05 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dreadnaught (Post 668385)
Very raw and sexy album. They picked up quite a following with this one and rightfully so, it's a perfect 'dude' album. What do you think of their solo material? I only have Sebastien Grainger & The Mountains and I don't think much of it to be honest, and I've never heard anything by MSTRKRFT.

I don't like Sebastian Graniger's stuff. I think it's too generic for a man of his talent. MSTRKRFT is alright - trumped completely by Toronto electronic heavy-hitters Crystal Castles.

Roygbiv 05-30-2009 10:12 AM

RED
ADVENTURE TELEVISION

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_HsSvQf9Q5p...-adventure.jpg

Television put themselves in a tough spot after their masterpiece debut LP “Marquee Moon”: What music will you make when you explored the pinnacles of your talent on your first go-round? If Marquee Moon was ground breaking, if it split the Earth into valleys and grooves, then Adventure fills those valleys with cement. In other words, it’s a fine companion to Marquee Moon, but it’s not as reckless as its older brother.

In fact, “Adventure” is so musically reserved, if it weren’t for Tom Verlaine’s easily recognizable vocals you wouldn’t think it’s the same band. I can’t think of a better example than Adventure and Marquee Moon as two albums in a band’s discography that should switch titles. Marquee Moon conjures the image for a sombre night, an image perfect for the predominantly subdued songs on Adventure, whereas Marquee Moon’s songs are more exploratory, and it’s 10 minute centerpiece is a journey onto itself. But that’s just a futile fantasy, so let’s focus on what we’ve got already.

Adventure is more roots rock than garage rock. The spiraling guitar work is still present, albeit anemic compared to Marquee Moon. It’s not a bad album, don’t get me wrong; it’s catchy as hell. But listen to Marquee Moon first, please. I recommend it so greatly that the Youtube video at the end of this review is actually a song from Marquee Moon.

MARQUEE MOON



8.0

sidewinder 05-30-2009 12:46 PM

Thanks for the review. I've had Marquee Moon for about 3-4 years and play it on occasion, each time it grows on me. The last time, I got curious about their other work, and obviously Adventure is the next step. Still haven't gotten it though.

Roygbiv 05-30-2009 01:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sidewinder (Post 669060)
Thanks for the review. I've had Marquee Moon for about 3-4 years and play it on occasion, each time it grows on me. The last time, I got curious about their other work, and obviously Adventure is the next step. Still haven't gotten it though.

adventure is definitely a grower. it just takes much longer than marquee moon to grow on you.

Roygbiv 06-03-2009 11:28 AM

ORANGE
MERCATOR PROJECTED EAST OF EDEN


http://www.robbierocks.ch/LP%20Cov%2...0projected.jpg

I didn’t enjoy Mercator Projected. First: it’s an hour long, and second: it’s a lackluster progressive album. Now don’t get me wrong, I love progressive rock, but like I stated in my review of Yes’s Close To The Edge, the word “progressive” shouldn’t mean innaccessible - enjoyable to only bearded fellows, and it certainly shouldn’t mean overlong. But that’s exactly what Mercator Projected is.

Opening number “Northern Hemisphere” is probably the most accessible song on the LP. The familiar hook and rhythm and the reverby vocals make it stand out, but there’s no other song that sounds like it. The rest of the album is, in fact, very different from Northern Hemisphere, becoming less funky and more folky, at times more jazzy, and certainly psychedelic. Now you may be thinking, “The album sounds like it’s too disjointed to be progressive,” to which you would be right in one aspect: it’s an especially disjointed album. Thing is, it’s also a very moody album, so it doesn’t necessarily matter that track two sounds nothing like track one, and so on, if they all feel the same. However, when all is said and done, Mercator Projected is more Rock than Prog Rock.

Listen to Mercator Projected if you’re a diehard prog fan, but if you’re just starting out, or want to know what all the fuss is a about, you could do much, much better.

4.9

Fruitonica 06-04-2009 03:26 AM

Is it really all that inaccessible for prog? I've cooled on it a little and definitely agree that it's too long, but I feel that even if the instrumentation is quite eclectic, most of the melodies are quite catchy in their own way.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:34 AM.


© 2003-2019 Advameg, Inc.


SEO by vBSEO 3.5.2 ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.