Music Banter

Music Banter (https://www.musicbanter.com/)
-   Album Reviews (https://www.musicbanter.com/album-reviews/)
-   -   Colour Coded Album Reviews (https://www.musicbanter.com/album-reviews/39702-colour-coded-album-reviews.html)

Roygbiv 04-22-2009 04:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Molecules (Post 644231)
http://a6.vox.com/6a00c2251c44b48fdb...495e0003-320pi

if you review that you are cool as custard. plus i dont think you will find a redder album cover

Suggestion taken. Working on getting the album as I type : P

333 04-22-2009 10:38 PM

Spark it up, sparky. :D Can't wait to hear this one.

Comus 04-22-2009 11:13 PM

haha I love this idea.

Roygbiv 04-23-2009 08:47 PM

thanks buddy!

*bump : P

simplephysics 04-23-2009 11:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Roygbiv (Post 644072)

THUNDER, LIGHTNING, STRIKE THE GO! TEAM

Though they live up to their namesake, making energetic music with cheerleading chants, it wouldn’t make perfect sense to let the album spin at a party. Though some songs would do just fine (The Power is On, Get It Together, Junior Kickstart, Huddle Formation), the lo-fi production brings the music closer to home. The Go! Team aim to pump you up with nostalgia, channeling Saturday morning cartoons, a sunset on the beach with your friends wearing light sweaters and sinking flip-flops in the sand - channeling your youth, in other words.

Basically the perfect way to describe the feeling you get listening to this album. I really like THUNDER, LIGHTNING, STRIKE as well,
it's a well crafted instrumental pop dance party.

Quote:

To do that they use strings, banjos, turn tables, funky basses, pianos, horns, samples and standard band instruments. As you can imagine, the lyrics are not on the forefront. You can hear the chanting, but I’d pay anyone who can understand any of them. That’s because the lyrics are not the point - the delivery is. I swear they Poke-rap at one point (Bottle Rocket).

There's definitely something a bit, "urban" about the Go! Team, but their music is just so innocent, this album is something I'd give to an 8 year old if they came to me for musical advice. (I'm waiting for the day <3)

Roygbiv 04-23-2009 11:55 PM

the day an eight year old asks me to give him/her music advice is the day i can die happy

also, i agree with the innocence of the album. the production does it all. it's such a shy sounding album, but underneath there's so much attitude.

also, i've updated the list of upcoming albums for YEllOW, GREEN and BLUE. there are some real gems there.

Roygbiv 04-24-2009 10:49 AM

YELLOW

THE BIZ THE SEA AND CAKE

http://www.theseaandcake.com/disc/biz.gif

Summery, beachy post-rock at it’s most warming. This is certainly the perfect soundtrack to the upcoming season, and it has mostly to do with Sam Prekop’s breezy vocal delivery, light guitars that mimic the waves, and a deep rhythm section for some shimmying and dancing. The album is best enjoyed whilst road tripping.

The stand outs are the opening numbers. “The Biz” is immediate and lovable, and it might be your favourite track until “Leeora” comes along with a more consistent rhythm. Then there’s “The Kiss,” and what you’ve got is a fail safe formula. The album does go slow down slightly with “Darkest Night,” and “Sending” but you’ll find that those moments are essential for momentum, and what’s a post-rock record without it?

At times The Biz doesn’t sound like a post-rock album, what with all the vocals and more pop-oriented opening tracks. But the third track, once again “The Kiss,” settles it first, and the album jumps back and forth between post-rock progression and pop sensibilities. It may sound like the album is disjointed, but it’s in fact perfect. The prominent pop foundation keeps what would be the intimidating post-rock elements in check, always bringing the sound back to something familiar and welcoming.

It’s interesting to note that Sea and Cake drummer John McEntire is also the drummer for post-rock gods Tortoise, a band that makes some serious post-rock without any pop at all.

The Biz feels like the kind of album that will always be there for you. It’s vague enough that everyone will connect with it, especially if it’s spun at a festive gathering. It can be that personal album that doesn’t give you any advice but holds you tight regardless, or it can be that album that all your friends have in common. But that’s the problem with it also. It can be as disposable as you need it to be. You may dust it off every now and then to listen to it whichever way you experience it best and then you may not listen to it for a long while. Your love or dislike for the album is based entirely on how you first experienced it, and how you choose to experience it thereafter. A worthwhile listen, regardless.




7.5/10

Roemilca 04-24-2009 03:21 PM

Joan Of Arc's **** Cheney, Mark Twain... has a yellow cover. ;)

Roygbiv 04-25-2009 12:15 AM

it's not very yellow, you can do better than that : P

Comus 04-25-2009 12:33 AM

For green, do yes Close to the Edge.

http://static.rateyourmusic.com/albu...ea617/5721.jpg

Looks pretty damn green to me.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:35 AM.


© 2003-2019 Advameg, Inc.


SEO by vBSEO 3.5.2 ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.