Music Banter

Music Banter (https://www.musicbanter.com/)
-   Album Reviews (https://www.musicbanter.com/album-reviews/)
-   -   Tool - 10,000 Days (https://www.musicbanter.com/album-reviews/17815-tool-10-000-days.html)

tkpb938 12-17-2007 09:51 PM

Quote:

Why should I state in my opinion? The lyrics are cliche, fact, monkey being used as a metaphor for man has been overdone the most recent example of this I can think of is "It's a Hit" by Rilo Kiley. Something being done a lot throughout lyrical history = cliche. That's not subjective, I stated my opinion intelligently and backed it up. Since it's my post it's implied it's my opinion.
It isnt implied that it is your opinion just because its a post on a message board. Thats like saying my opinion is implied just because I said something. Its irrelevant whether your typing it or saying it, or whatever.

Also, something being cliche isn't neccessarily a fact either. For instance, one might think that "break up", emo, songs are cliche however someone who's going through a breakup may not.

sleepy jack 12-17-2007 09:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ace (Post 423130)
Who lightly touches? And I haven't really heard much of Dylan. Even so, writing on Eden isn't copyrighted or anything. Kinda like Springsteen and his plethora of car songs, along with every other band having atleast one song about being in a car. Topics are going to get old, bands just have to be creative with it.

It talks about Eden in the first verse, that is all. I never said it was copyrighted, you said no artist had done it before. That is incorrect and I corrected you.

Quote:

Originally Posted by tkpb938 (Post 423131)
It isnt implied that it is your opinion just because its a post on a message board. Thats like saying my opinion is implied just because I said something. Its irrelevant whether your typing it or saying it, or whatever.

I said it, it's implied it's my opinion.

Quote:

Originally Posted by tkpb938 (Post 423131)
Also, something being cliche isn't neccessarily a fact either. For instance, one might think that "break up", emo, songs are cliche however someone who's going through a breakup may not.

Not true, cliche has a set definition when something meets that definition it's cliche.

Ace 12-17-2007 09:59 PM

I didn't say no artist had done it before....I just said I have yet to hear it.
Therefore, it is not a common subject, and it makes the song stand out.
It also helps keep the song from being cliche, since I haven't heard Eden mentioned a great deal at all.

tkpb938 12-17-2007 10:00 PM

Quote:

Not true, cliche has a set definition when something meets that definition it's cliche.
Meaningful also has a set definition. Yet it is subjective.

sleepy jack 12-17-2007 10:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ace (Post 423135)
I didn't say no artist had done it before....I just said I have yet to hear it.
Therefore, it is not a common subject which makes the song stand out.

Still doesn't make it original.

Quote:

Originally Posted by tkpb938 (Post 423136)
Meaningful also has a set definition. Yet it is subjective.

Meaningful and cliche are different words. Something being cliche isn't subjective. Being cliche means a popular metaphor, image, idea etc, comparing men to monkeys is a popular image, thus it's cliche.

tkpb938 12-17-2007 10:04 PM

Quote:

Meaningful and cliche are different words.
You've ignored the point. Whatever...

This is obviously going nowhere fast. I'm going to bed. Although this was rather entertaining lol. Nice debate guys.

sleepy jack 12-17-2007 10:05 PM

How am I ignoring it? Re-read it, I had edited it before you posted. "Meaningful and cliche are different words. Something being cliche isn't subjective. Being cliche means a popular metaphor, image, idea etc, comparing men to monkeys is a popular image, thus it's cliche."

Ace 12-17-2007 10:08 PM

I didn't say it was original.
I just said it wasn't cliche.
And it doesn't make Bob Dylan original either, if you want to get technical.
Eden was wrote about over 2,000 years before Dylan or Maynard's birth.


Edit: For the above post......lmao

sleepy jack 12-17-2007 10:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ace (Post 423145)
I didn't say it was original.
I just said it wasn't cliche.

I said the monkey/man thing was cliche, the Eden idea is original.

Quote:

And it doesn't make Bob Dylan original either, if you want to get technical.
Eden was wrote about over 2,000 years before Dylan or Maynard's birth.
Umm, last time I checked Eden wasn't a song or a metaphor for anything. That logic wasn't very, well logical.

Ace 12-17-2007 10:18 PM

Eden was written in Biblical "Psalms" (aka songs), many thousands of years ago.
Just cause it isn't modern, doesn't mean it doesn't count.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:04 AM.


© 2003-2022 Advameg, Inc.