Music Banter

Music Banter (https://www.musicbanter.com/)
-   Album Reviews (https://www.musicbanter.com/album-reviews/)
-   -   Tool - 10,000 Days (https://www.musicbanter.com/album-reviews/17815-tool-10-000-days.html)

Ace 08-02-2006 05:10 AM

Tool - 10,000 Days
 
I loved Tool's new album 10,000 Days. The first single, Vicarious, was released by accident around 4/20/06. In this song Maynard James Keenan perfectly symbolizes most people's desire for drama, or tragedy. He especially focuses on the news media. You can't help but notice how the media can be compared to a pack of hungry wolves, when it comes to getting a good story. The title 10,000 Days is taken from the time his mother spent paralyzed, until the year that she died. 10,000 days is around 27 years, and in the songs Wings For Marie/10,000 Days, the main topic is Maynard's mother. To be honest I'm not completely sure what this next song is about.....maybe they were high...haha...but The Pot, is one of the best songs on the new album. The band hasn't had this kind of intensity in quite a long time. The only way I can compare it, is to some work off the Aenima album. Maynard's vocals sound like it was, "..back in '93, on the first EP". Jambi is the second song on the album, and Adam Jones has a sick solo with his guitar + talkbox. The song, Right In Two, is so good you're going to have to just buy the album and listen to it. Overall this is probably the second best album, in my opinion. The 2001 album, Lateralus, is one of the best Metal albums period. 10,000 Days is fantastic, but doesn't quite top Lateralus. Listening to both albums however, you have to sit back and play them a few times, just to digest what the band's singing about. If you haven't got a copy of 10,000 Days, get off the couch and go buy one.

Merkaba 08-02-2006 10:06 PM

Thanks for the review, Ace.

Personally, I thought 10,000 Days lacked flow. I really enjoyed the kick off with Vicarious followed by the rumbling Jambi, but then it came to an ubrupt halt. Wings for Marie and 10,000 Days are both good but I felt as a whole they killed the album. The Pot tried to regain some of the initial momentum but couldn't sustain it. I like all the songs individually but as a whole, as an album, it just felt mediocre.

Ace 08-02-2006 11:19 PM

Same at first.
 
I thought the same thing after hearing it through the first time. I actually thought most of it was garbage. But it took a few listens, and alot of listening to the lyrics, to really get into it. This album is more like a piece of art, rather than a piece of music. Althought it isn't official, you can mix three of the songs off 10,000 Days together, and form the full version of 10,000 Days. Supposedly, anyway. Viginti Tres, (which stands for 23 in latin. 23 is the number of snychronization.), mixed with Wings For Marie is like 11:05. I think 10,000 Days is also 11:05. Play Viginti Tres followed by Wings For Marie, in one media player, while playing 10,000 Days at the same time in another.
I'm not really sure if this was meant to happen, but the tracks do synch pretty well, and it sounds great. If you want some more information, I've got the link for how to mix the tracks, plus I have an mp3 already mixed.

Stone Magnet 08-02-2006 11:24 PM

Lateralus was a trip around the stars - 10,000 Days is a walk through the woods.

TheBig3 08-06-2006 06:42 PM

Lateralus was self-absorbed and art for the sake of art. 10,000 days is realistic and personal.

I think The Pot was one of the greatest songs released this year. Probably one of Tool's best songs.

under 08-06-2006 07:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TheBig3KilledMyRainDog
Lateralus was self-absorbed and art for the sake of art. 10,000 days is realistic and personal.

I think The Pot was one of the greatest songs released this year. Probably one of Tool's best songs.


I also liked The Opiate by TOOL.

Vicarious is also a pretty good song that they made. One of my favorites.

Stone Magnet 08-06-2006 07:43 PM

The Lateralus was pretty good too.

Ace 08-06-2006 09:31 PM

10,000 Days is more of the art album. Lateralus is their best period. The song puts me to sleep =))

marcwb17 08-07-2006 07:16 AM

is this stuff hard rock?

Ace 08-07-2006 08:10 PM

Yeah. They're usualy labeled Alternative Metal/Progressive Rock. Listen to them and see for yourself.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:20 PM.


2003-2019 Advameg, Inc.


SEO by vBSEO 3.5.2 ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.