Music Banter

Music Banter (https://www.musicbanter.com/)
-   Album Reviews (https://www.musicbanter.com/album-reviews/)
-   -   Colour Coded Album Reviews (https://www.musicbanter.com/album-reviews/39702-colour-coded-album-reviews.html)

Roygbiv 04-21-2009 06:44 PM

thanks! if you want I can share the album.

sidewinder 04-21-2009 07:01 PM

I've got it on CD, but thanks. ;)

4ZZZ 04-22-2009 12:49 AM

I have an album that I want you to review. It is yellow though. I had lined it up for my Judge An Album By Its Cover thread but would be happy for you to give it a go.

Piss Me Off 04-22-2009 03:57 AM

Will there be a token Weezer review?

Bulldog 04-22-2009 05:30 AM

Nice idea this. Bring on Trout Mask Replica!

Roygbiv 04-22-2009 07:50 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 4ZZZ (Post 643894)
I have an album that I want you to review. It is yellow though. I had lined it up for my Judge An Album By Its Cover thread but would be happy for you to give it a go.

yes, please, send it my way!

PMO - good question. i'll definitely consider it.

Bulldog - i was actually going to review TMR instead of Standards for my first review. uncanny. i will do it the next go-round.

Roygbiv 04-22-2009 08:28 AM

ORANGE

THUNDER, LIGHTNING, STRIKE THE GO! TEAM
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedi...%2C_Strike.jpg

“One, two, three, four!”

You’ll never hear that rally cry the same way again. A great album can be one that takes tried and true preconceptions and makes them fresh again. The Go! Team do just that in Thunder, Lightning, Strike, their debut album. The secret is in the production.

Though they live up to their namesake, making energetic music with cheerleading chants, it wouldn’t make perfect sense to let the album spin at a party. Though some songs would do just fine (The Power is On, Get It Together, Junior Kickstart, Huddle Formation), the lo-fi production brings the music closer to home. The Go! Team aim to pump you up with nostalgia, channeling Saturday morning cartoons, a sunset on the beach with your friends wearing light sweaters and sinking flip-flops in the sand - channeling your youth, in other words.

To do that they use strings, banjos, turn tables, funky basses, pianos, horns, samples and standard band instruments. As you can imagine, the lyrics are not on the forefront. You can hear the chanting, but I’d pay anyone who can understand any of them. That’s because the lyrics are not the point - the delivery is. I swear they Poke-rap at one point (Bottle Rocket).

If there was one thing to criticize about the album is that it’s impossible to follow up. The Go! Team did release a second album, Proof Of Youth, but everything that was good about Thunder, Lightning, Strike was scrapped for that one. This is a once in a lifetime offering, an album with no precedent and probably no successor. You may be able to come up with a few bands and albums that sound similar, but none come close to doing what The Go! Team do so successfully here.

GET IT TOGETHER


9.3

jackhammer 04-22-2009 11:47 AM

Good review. Unfortunately I have never been able to get into the Go team.

Roygbiv 04-22-2009 12:31 PM

nothing to be nostalgic about? : P

Molecules 04-22-2009 12:59 PM

http://a6.vox.com/6a00c2251c44b48fdb...495e0003-320pi

if you review that you are cool as custard. plus i dont think you will find a redder album cover


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:56 PM.


2003-2019 Advameg, Inc.


SEO by vBSEO 3.5.2 ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.