Music Banter

Music Banter (https://www.musicbanter.com/)
-   Album Reviews (https://www.musicbanter.com/album-reviews/)
-   -   Colour Coded Album Reviews (https://www.musicbanter.com/album-reviews/39702-colour-coded-album-reviews.html)

Roygbiv 04-25-2009 09:04 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Comus (Post 646409)
For green, do yes Close to the Edge.

http://static.rateyourmusic.com/albu...ea617/5721.jpg

Looks pretty damn green to me.

will do, it's on the list of upcoming. i'll do it after i do ege bamyasi by can.

4ZZZ 04-25-2009 09:28 AM

Don't tell them what you are reviewing Roy. Keep them guessing.

Roygbiv 04-25-2009 09:38 AM

i thought a revealed list would build incentive to view the thread and comment on it.

it's not a wildly popular thread : P

4ZZZ 04-25-2009 09:49 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Roygbiv (Post 646544)
it's not a wildly popular thread : P

Compared to what mate? Rubbish like my band is better than your band threads?

Those that count read this thread;)

Urban Hat€monger ? 04-25-2009 09:52 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 4ZZZ (Post 646547)
Those that count read this thread;)

What he said

You'll find people will read threads like this rather than comment. Unless of course you come out with something really controversial ;)

Roygbiv 04-25-2009 10:40 AM

controversial, eh? :P

thanks for the reassurance guys. i really don't know what i was thinking about when i said that.

Seltzer 04-25-2009 10:57 AM

If you review any of Weezer's spectral discography in a positive light (excuse the pun), I'm sure Urban will find that controversial. In fact, he may even lay a brown one. :D

Roygbiv 04-27-2009 08:23 PM

GREEN
EGE BAMYASI CAN

http://antidomingo.tv/wp-content/upl...08/2r6gpzq.jpg

Expect post-rock, krautrock, progressive rock, world pop, and alternative rock reminiscent of Beck and The Beta Band. Then expect it all to fit within 40 great minutes and you’ve got Ege Bamyasi, also known as Can’s pop record. It’s the one record in their entire discography that stands out the most, and it’s easy to see why. It’s the most focused, most immediate and thus most accessible. But is it their best?

That’s arguable. For most, Can is Tago Mago and Future Days - subtle and sprawling. Ege Bamyasi is their certainly their boldest and, due to the differing song styles, most disjointed one. It’s not necessary to listen to the album in one sitting, which is exactly what the aforementioned two (and most others in their discography) outright demand. But for this same reason it’s also their least intimidating, and normally the place many begin. The single “Spoon,” once the theme of a German television show, the fact that Kanye West once sampled “Swin Swang Song” and that Pitchfork rated it at 9.8 out of 10 means that you’ve probably heard of this album before any of the others.

And maybe you should listen to this one before the others. In all honesty, however, I’d start with either Tago Mago or Future Days so that you can get Ege Bamyasi. Though, with a band like Can, starting anywhere is a good idea.




8.9/10

333 04-27-2009 08:48 PM

Nice one, mister. :) I favor Sing Swan Song. Is that typical?

Roygbiv 04-27-2009 08:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 333 (Post 647695)
Nice one, mister. :) I favor Sing Swan Song. Is that typical?

It's a nice track.

My favourite is I'm So Green. It seems so out of place in the album because it's so much poppier than all the other tracks.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:57 AM.


© 2003-2019 Advameg, Inc.


SEO by vBSEO 3.5.2 ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.