Music Banter

Music Banter (https://www.musicbanter.com/)
-   Album Reviews (https://www.musicbanter.com/album-reviews/)
-   -   Colour Coded Album Reviews (https://www.musicbanter.com/album-reviews/39702-colour-coded-album-reviews.html)

jackhammer 04-28-2009 08:51 AM

Silver:

http://www.576konzol.hu/pix/blog/hsz...-new-forms.jpg

Be interested to what you think of it. Roni Size/Reprazent - New Forms

Roygbiv 04-28-2009 10:07 AM

if i can find more silver albums i'll think about including PRISM, which isn't technically a colour but it has all the colours within it.

send me a PM with the album anyway, i'd love to hear it : )

coryallen2 04-28-2009 10:31 AM

http://z.about.com/d/heavymetal/1/G/...und-carnal.jpg


Salt The Wound-Carnal Reprecussions


(this one will be difficult)

Roygbiv 04-28-2009 10:48 AM

i guess that one's meant to fall under the green or orange camp?

coryallen2 04-28-2009 10:48 AM

Which ever one you want Roy =]

Roygbiv 04-28-2009 11:01 AM

hah, well i don't know - they're both pretty present. im looking for albums with a dominant colour scheme, or like a certain colour against black, because black isn't a colour so i don't count it.

coryallen2 04-28-2009 11:02 AM

Go with green because of the text?

Roygbiv 04-28-2009 11:21 AM

the centerpiece is orange, though : S

Roygbiv 04-30-2009 10:16 AM

BLUE


THE ICEMAN COMETH JERRY BUTLER

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedi...Man_Cometh.jpg

I first took interest in Jerry Butler when favoured hip-hop producer J Dilla sampled “Just Because I Really Love You” in the track “U-Love” for his album Donuts. It’s one of the strongest tracks in a 31 track vibe fest, and its due predominantly to J Dilla’s ability to mix Butler’s passionate delivery with a mellow beat, keeping the vocals at the forefront. The Ice Man Cometh, Jerry Butler’s 11th album and definitive work, is an immediate reference to Jerry Butler’s on stage persona. Able to keep cool during the most strained emotive situations, Butler was able to define the Iceman.

In all honesty, there’s nothing profound about The Iceman Cometh. This is standard Soul, except without the high energy that soul god James Brown defined; the calling at the crowd, the funky jigging. Butler trades all the above for a smoother sound with a bigger emphasis on dated themes of love. But you’re not listening to The Iceman Cometh for its profoundness. You’re listening to it for its transcendent vocal delivery and because Jerry Butler is such a cool mother****er. Also because it’s a short record you can blow through in half an hour. So if you’re ignoring the lyrics - good.

Do give The Iceman Cometh a curious listen. If you’re looking to get into Soul, you’ve already checked James Brown and Al Green out. Check Jerry Butler out next. It’s essential listening for the genre.

7.2/10


coryallen2 04-30-2009 10:19 AM

red

heaven shall burn-in battle there is no law


http://www.twilight-vertrieb.de/imag...e_-cd-digi.jpg


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:40 AM.


© 2003-2019 Advameg, Inc.


SEO by vBSEO 3.5.2 ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.