Music Banter

Go Back   Music Banter > The MB Reader > Album Reviews
Register Blogging Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Welcome to Music Banter Forum! Make sure to register - it's free and very quick! You have to register before you can post and participate in our discussions with over 70,000 other registered members. After you create your free account, you will be able to customize many options, you will have the full access to over 1,100,000 posts.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-08-2009, 06:42 AM   #1 (permalink)
Account Disabled
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: lorain,ohio
Posts: 908
Default Cory's Album Reviews 2

Okay, So my other album reviews were a joke and I'm sorry you guys had to see such bad album reviews. So in this thread I will post serious album reviews that I really actually tried and put lots of effort in. No copy and paste and no plaigerism.



The rules of this are the same as before.


Contact me VIA pm or visitor message to tell me if you want me to review an album. (One that you want to see reviewed.)


Please comment on my new reviews asap.

The rules from before if you don't know what they were are.
1. Post suggestions (what albums you would like to be reviewed.)
2. Tell me what I can get better at or what I did get better at.
3. Don't worry about my grammer errors when I see them I will get them.

Just because I am this site's punching bag dose'nt mean you can come in here and make fun of me. I ask for all seriousness when giving me suggestions. Albums that people reccomend me to review would be reviewed to the best of my ability to make you happy. If you do reccomend me an album to review I will get it up with in 1-3 days. Maybe even that day.

Last edited by coryallen2; 05-11-2009 at 09:20 AM.
coryallen2 is offline  
Old 05-08-2009, 06:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Account Disabled
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: lorain,ohio
Posts: 908
Default

Album's I've reviewed.


MGMT ~ Oracular Spectacular (2008)

The Killers ~ Hot Fuss (2004)

A Day To Remember ~ And Their Name Was Treason (2005)

Cinematic Sunrise ~ A Coloring Storybook And Long-Playing Record (2008)

Winds of Plague ~ Decimate The Weak (2008)

Alesana ~ On Frail Wings Of Vanity And Wax (2007)

Pink Floyd ~ The Wall (1979)

Rush ~ Moving Pictures(1981)

Killswitch Engage ~ As Daylight Dies (2006)

Dommin ~ Love is Gone (2009)

Nightwish ~ Dark Passion Play (2007)

Anberlin ~ New Surrender (2008)

Saosin ~ Saosin (2006)

Last edited by coryallen2; 06-08-2009 at 06:16 AM.
coryallen2 is offline  
Old 05-08-2009, 06:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
Account Disabled
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: lorain,ohio
Posts: 908
Default




Alternate digital cover.



MGMT-Oracular Spectacular

Track list:

1.) Time To Pretend
2.) Weekend Wars
3.) The Youth
4.) Electric Feel
5.) 4th Dimesional Transition
6.) Pieces of What
7.) Of Moons,Birds & Monsters
8.) The Handshake
9.) Future Reflections


Album Discription.

This is the first debut album from Brooklyn,New York indie rock band named MGMT. This ablum was released on October 2, 2007 on Columbia Records,available in CD and LP formats in January 22, 2008. This album has new versions of songs released on their previous, Time To Pretend EP which was released in 2005. The songs that have new versions are "Eledtric Feel" and "Kids". MGMT was named one of Last.fm's most played artists of 2008.

Album Review.

the first time I listened to MGMT was at a party. There was strobe lights and loud music. Everythign you would want, but my buddy played this one song. I could'nt figure out who it was by or what it was named. So I did research on Google to find the lyrics. The results for the song came up to be MGMT-Electric Feel. So I did even more reasearch for albums by this band because that 1 song had me from the begining. so I was searching and searching and came upon Oracular Spectacular. Every song on this CD were diffrent from each other. All diffrent from the other in their own way. If you get this album give it a listen 2 or 3 times. It's one of those things I guess has to "Come" on to people. Although I loved them from the get-go. I would suggest this album to everyone that kind of like techno cross with indie rock. som magazines have quoted this band to be "A college dorm experiment gone right!". So with that being said go grab you a copy and just sit and listen for hours on end. It will grow on you I know it will. Anyways all in all I would rate this CD a 10/10 stars because of it's songs that are very diffrent in each other, none of them sound the same and thats what i look for when i'm listening to a band.
coryallen2 is offline  
Old 05-08-2009, 06:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
Account Disabled
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: lorain,ohio
Posts: 908
Default




The Killers- Hot Fuss

Okay so here I am again reviewing an album, But this one is going to be different. Yes people "Different". I am going to try my hardest and put 100% effort in to this review for you RIGHT-TRACK. Yep, a little different this time dedicating a review to right track, the reason I am dedicating it too him is for adopting me, and bringing me up from the lowest rung of the MB ladder to maybe up there with the well respected member of MB. So without any further "banting" from cory (How ironic) here is The Killers - Hot Fuss.


Track listing-

1. Jenny Was A Friend of Mine
2. Mr.Brightside
3. Smile Like You Mean It
4. Somebody Told Me
5. All These Things That I've Done
6. Andy, Your A Star
7. On Top
8. Change Your Mind
9. Believe Me Natalie
10. Midnight Show
11. Everything Will Be Alright


Album information.
Hot Fuss by the post post-punk band The Killers was the debut album from the Las Vegas, and was first released in 2004. This album is so great that it stayed in the Top 50 of the Billboard 200 for FIFTY WEEKS!!! This album reached #1 in both the UK and Australia. It has 4 singles off of this disk and sold more than 2,500,000 copies in the first year it was released, and since then 5,000,000 have been sold worldwide. Along with all of those great achievements Hot Fuss has earned 5 Grammys. That's amazing!


Album review.
I remember the days where me and my friends would be speeding down the street in one of our cars blasting music and just having a good time. We listened to everything rock,rap,country hell we even were flying down the street listening to some music from the twentys, but the one artist that was stuck in my head was The Killers. We would listen to them almost everytime we were in that car. The album just happened to be Hot Fuss too. What I'm trying to get at is this album is full of fun songs and great music. It keeps you right up there in the moment with every passing song. When you get to the end of the Cd you don't want it too end. With amazing tracks like Mr.Brightside you can just drop the top down and have a nice relaxing ride down by the beach. This album is different than most of the loud screaming beep bop music that I usually review. The Killers have a nice mellow flow and sound to their music. I could argue that this is one of the best post-punk bands of todays music scene.I would recommend this album to people who love post-punk music and semi-quite songs. Other albums by The Killers that I would suggest would be Sam's Town,Sawdust,Day & Age, and When You Were Young. So if this sounds like a great buy to you, which I can assure that it is. Go out and grab a copy and drop the top and just cruise.


I rate this album a 8/10 because "Punk" really isn't my thing but this band is a really good band
coryallen2 is offline  
Old 05-11-2009, 06:29 AM   #5 (permalink)
Account Disabled
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: lorain,ohio
Posts: 908
Default



A Day to Remember-And Their Name Was Treason



Track Listing:
01. Intro
02. Heartless
03. Your Way with Words is Through Silence
04. A Second Glance
05. Casablanca Sucked Anyways
06. You Should Have Killed Me When You Had the Chance
07. If Looks Could Kill
08. You Had Me At Hello
09. 1958
10. Sound the Alarm


Abum Review:
The promo-sheet that came with this album says A Day To Remember embraces "both mosh and pop ala Saves The Day, melodic singing, and youth crew chants." This quite accurate, and I definaly agree with it. They have both hardcore and beautiful songs. This band is a mix of Hardcore and pop-punk styles. Alot of peopel hate this band and say that their styles are "cluster f*cks of style" but in my opinion they have alot of musical talent. Displayed very well in this album. They make great GREAT soft songs. A prime example of this is "You had me at hello". Thsi is one of the most beautiful songs I have ever heard. I do agree with alot of peopel that have reviewed this album that their lyrics are a bit harsh for "Thanking the heavenly father". Besides that little bugger this band is pretty sweet. This album was released in 2005 out of Indianola Records. (Which have alot of great bands.) My outlooks on this band is that they are doing pretty well in the musical scene. Like anyother band they have their lovers and haters. That is to be expected. I'll give you any example of their lyrics to let you decide if they are good.


Lyrics are from the song "You Had Me At Hello".

You had me at hello.

I've never seen a smile that can light the room like yours
It's simply radiant, I feel more with everyday that goes by
I watch the clock to make my timing just right

Would it be okay?
Would it be okay if I took your breath away?

And I'm wasting away, away from you.

What have I gotten into this time around
I know that I had sworn I'd never trust anyone again but I didn't have to
You had me at hello


So with that I'll let you decide on what you think of the band. I would personally tell you to go out and grab this album. It's a good listen.

I rate this album 8/10 because it is good but it has haters which take its reputation down a little bit, but all-in-all its a great album.

Last edited by coryallen2; 05-11-2009 at 06:42 AM.
coryallen2 is offline  
Old 05-11-2009, 07:13 AM   #6 (permalink)
Account Disabled
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: lorain,ohio
Posts: 908
Default




Cinematic Sunrise - A Coloring Storybook And Long-Playing Record

Track Listing:
1. Pulling A Piano From A Pond
2. Goodbye Friendship, Hello Heartache
3. Umbrellas And Elephants
4. Our Honeymoon At Weston Hills
5. The Wordless
6. You Told Me You Loved Me


Release Date- May 13, 2008 out of Equalvisions Records.



Album Review:
I love spending time with family, weather it be at get togethers or just sitting at the house. The one thign that I love doing is coloring with my nephew. He is 4 years old, and liek all kids he loves crayons and colored pencils. This album is great for just that. It's fun,kid friendly and dose'nt lack any musical taste at all. Just because I say this album is "Kid friendly" dose'nt mean it's some little Kidz Bop type deal going on. Actually this band is a side project of Chiodos, and like all of the other side bands Craig Owens has made it is great. So for me sitting and coloring with my nephew is great... Listening to Chiodos is great. Cinematic Sunrise is basically Chiodos. It's a win-win situation. Anyways this album is a little diffrent than the other albums Craig Owens has made. It's has more piano's and acoustic work. Lots less of the screaming. The story behidn the album art is a funny one. I read on the internet that Craig Owens was quoted "I asked for crayons but they gave me colored pencils. I got really mad." HAHA. Big deal aye? This album art has animals and hidden pictures of band members. It's quiet fun actually. I woukld reccomend this album to everyone. You can play it around kids and not get bored with it. So that brigns me to my rate of the album. I rate it a 10/10 because it is a NICE peice of work. So I would say go grab this album and if you like it grab a few Chiodos albums and a few Sound of Animals Fighting albums.
coryallen2 is offline  
Old 05-11-2009, 08:18 AM   #7 (permalink)
Account Disabled
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: lorain,ohio
Posts: 908
Default



Winds of Plague - Decimate The Weak

Track Listing:

1. A Cold Day In Hell
2. Anthems of Apocalypse
3. The Impaler
4. Decimate the Weak
5. Origins and Endings
6. Angels of Debauchery
7. Reloaded
8. Unbeakable
9. One Body Too Many
10. Legions



Album Review:
This is an Deathcore band for California. This album is great. Everyone lieks a little soft music here and there, but I like a little Hardcore more here and less soft music there. This meanign that this band is an awesome California based band that uses two diffrent scream styles on this album. They use the signature Hardcore screams, and the deathcore "Cookie monster growl". I would sit in my room forever hold my microphone and just screaming along with this bands music. Europe has dominated the hardcore and metal scene through the 2000's, but with this band it shows that the good ol' USA dose'nt lack any talent. This album is relativly short, it's only 36 minutes long, but don't let that deture you. Thisis packed with crazy ear breaking deathcore like you've never heard. If you are a fan of the deathcore/melodic death metal/deathmetal scene I would for sure reccomend you this album. Similar artist to this band would be Whtiechapel and Salt the Wound. (Those are the more "WEll Known" bands.) I rate this album a 9/10. I rate it a nine and not a ten because it is really really short. I think they should bulk it up a little bit. So go out and grab you a copy. You won't be let down.



Heres a sample of them. (Crazy breakdown)

http://www.metalinjection.net/tv/vie...---the-impaler

Last edited by coryallen2; 05-11-2009 at 09:11 AM.
coryallen2 is offline  
Old 05-11-2009, 09:40 AM   #8 (permalink)
Account Disabled
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: lorain,ohio
Posts: 908
Default




Alesana - On Frail Wings Of Vanity And Wax (Re-release)

Track Listing:
  1. Icarus
  2. Ambrosia
  3. Pathetic, Ordinary
  4. Alchemy Sounded Good at the Time
  5. Daggers Speak Louder Than Words
  6. The Last Three Letters
  7. Apology
  8. Tilting the Hourglass
  9. This Conversation Is Over
  10. Congratulations, I Hate You
  11. The Third Temptation of Paris
  12. A Siren's Soliloquy
  13. Nero's Decay
Album Review:
This is'nt anything NEW really from alesana but a re-release from their 2006 album. This is a great album from Alesana. They have scored big tour with other great bands like Sky Eats Airplane and Haste The Day. If you want some agressive music but not "Deathcore" music this is your band. The are similar to Chiodos in their singing styles. The lead singer has a nice range of vocal talents. He can go from a bloodcurtling scream to a lovely soft melody. This CD was a bit "Failsafe" in the sense that the kids will gobble it up. The riffs are solid,the vocals are great,the drums are amazing. Alesana has great potential,and I hope the let it come through with the next album. Although this album is great the. All of the songs are about suicide attempts and breakups. Like I said Alesana has potential. Hopefully they will show it in their next album. I would rate this a 6/10 because the lyrics really don't differ from each other. Anyway, if you like this band I would reccomend albums from Chiodos,Haste the Day, and Sky Eats Airplane.
coryallen2 is offline  
Old 05-11-2009, 10:38 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ba and Be.
 
jackhammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: This Is England
Posts: 17,300
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by coryallen2 View Post


Winds of Plague - Decimate The Weak
I have just checked out the video for The Impaler and I laughed my ass off. Terrible lightweight music with a vocalist wearing a hoodie and throwing Eminem hand shapes and women pole dancing. Look at the album cover and the song titles and I ask WTF is this band about?

I thought I would reply to your thread out of politeness but if the music is no good then I'm not gonna bullshit around I'm afraid.
__________________

A cynic by experience, a romantic by inclination and now a hero by necessity.
jackhammer is offline  
Old 05-11-2009, 10:39 AM   #10 (permalink)
Account Disabled
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: lorain,ohio
Posts: 908
Default

Yeah the video is pretty....questionable. But I like them. Cradle of Filth is better though.



http://www.roadrunnerrecords.com/mus...px?songID=2397
coryallen2 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads



2003-2019 Advameg, Inc.

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.2 ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.